Foundation Friday

Since I have a serious foundation obsession. I love to find and try new ones. This has lead me to do a ongoing series every Friday I will feature a Foundation I have tried and will review it. I have two disclosures. I bought this product with my own money and my thoughts are my own and my skin type is normal/combo. I use to be on the dry side in all areas but my nose and chin. I now don’t so much have dry patches as weird lines and textural issues on my nose with a super oily chin. So obviously if you have awesome 20 year old skin this review might not be good for you. 😀

Today is Sephora’s Perfection Mist Airbrush Foundation. It comes in five colors — Fair, Light, Medium, Tan, and Deep. Per the Sephora website it retails for $26.00 US and is described as…

What it is:
An airbrush foundation with an extra fine mist for flawless makeup results at home.

What it does:
Seamlessly blur imperfections and control shine for up to 10 hours with this satin-finish foundation. The weightless, micro fine pigments of InstaBlend technology ensure color lays down seamlessly smooth so you can build to your desired coverage level—from light to full—for a flawless look every time. Mineral-rich red algae extract protects the skin from environmental stresses and helps smooth the skin for a soft-focus, airbrushed finish that lasts.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Phthalates

What else you need to know:
This oil-free, extra fine mist is easy to apply, non-comedogenic, and dermatologist-tested.

Here is my handy dandy container.

052 055

I ordered it in light. It is more on the yellow side. I wore it three days. Here are the pictures in the am and end of day.

011

 

First day = First impression. I loved it felt great light coverage. I did not directly spray it on but used my sonia Kashuk brush. It is a light formula that I had issues trying to build up. I felt it hid my pores very well and didn’t oxidize.

016 017

 

End of day in natural light was ok. My healing blemish is showing through and regardless on my chin I am shiny. My other problem area is my nose and it did do well to not settling into those pores and the wear off was even and not blotchy.

 

 

 

032 034

The arrows are pointing out where spraying it directly on my face and it got in my hair. I even tried to hide my hair. GRRRR And I just couldn’t get any build able coverage.

039

End of Day Two — not streaky but not real visible either.

 

002

 

This was my last day of wearing it before I decided it just wasn’t for me. More about that later. I did use it cosmetics bye bye under it in the middle of my face where I am reddest. I did the brush again. I would spray directly on the brush then buff it in.

008 009

 

I must say the end of day was consistent. Wore off even but really can’t tell I even have any make up on. Which is a pro IF you love this look — a your skin but better look. For my age though I want a foundation that stays put and I want to look like I have foundation on. HA I know I am probably silly but dang it I want people to know I have awesome product and application technique for my canvas. lol Now I would love this if I had a job interview and was wearing it for a short time and didn’t want to come off as a diva. (Which I normally love being a diva BUT try to tone it down for work) It’s great at truly hiding my pores around my nose and nose/cheek area. I think a color match might be hard but I also think it is forgiving. I give this a B+.  A lot of people say it is an awesome alternative/dupe for the Dior Airshow (I think that’s what it is called) . It is 62.00 and I believe those folks. I won’t be buying it to compare — just keeping it real. The other thing I am leery of is being a spray I am not sure how long it would last.

So I think that is the majority of my thoughts on the product. I am glad I gave it a try but for my age it is a MEH. If I had a daughter who was of make up age I think it would be perfect.

Please leave your comments or questions below.

Angela Watkins ** The Makeup Whisperer
{All I Desire Is To Empower And Beautify The World … No Matter The Situation}

Please follow me on my social media sites. I  am on my beauty youtube channel, beauty blog, tumblrtwitterFBgoogle+personal blog, youtube vlog, and instagram.

6 thoughts on “Foundation Friday

  1. Yeah, I really think those spray foundations are meant for younger people who don’t need much coverage. It would annoy the crap out of me to get it in my hair all the time!

  2. I had never tried (or even heard of spray foundation) except professional airbrush systems. Looks messy, and I like more coverage too so this is defiantly not for me either! 🙂

  3. Great post! I’m not sure that I could get into the application of this product – it seems like I’d need a lot of time to get it “just right” and then it’d probably look built up and terrible! 🙂

  4. I’ve only gawked at spray foundations because I’m afraid of getting it in my hair. That would bug me. I usually skip foundation in the morning because I speed through my routine, but I’ve always been curious… does a spray foundation go on any quicker than using a brush to blend?

  5. That’s too bad that it didn’t work out. I’ve heard so many great things about airbrush foundation… It seems odd, but some of the more high end lines seem to have great results. But I would go crazy getting it in my hair as well. I really enjoyed your review and am glad you provided such explanation of the product and great before, after, during, etc. pics.

  6. I don’t think the hair thing would bother me as I keep my hair covered until my make up is done, but I would have a really hard time spraying something onto my face. I’d be afraid for my eyes even though they’d be closed it’d still bother me a lot. I like that you’re doing a foundation Friday, as soon as our Sephora opens I’ll finally be getting color matched!!! I can’t wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

