UGH! Brush Cleaning

Does everyone else find this time consuming and tedious!!! Here is the best way I have found and it is inexpensive as well.

First the soap I use. Dr Bronner’s Magic Soap. It is amazing. It gets all kinds of gunk out and is inexpensive AND smells amazing. It has natural oils so it doesn’t dry out the brushes either. It retails usually for around 4-5 but that link will take you to a sight that has it for 2.99. I don’t know that sight so if you use it I can’t guarantee it is an awesome site. Also I will put in my disclaimer all these items were purchased by me.

nikon122113 025

I feel that with Bare Minerals brushes that they need something to stop them from splaying out when drying and help them keep their shape. So I purchased these Brush Guards from Walmart and they work great. I know there is DIY brush guards on youtube as well as I am sure you can get bulk on ebay cheap.

nikon122113 026

And here is a picture of all the brushes I need to do. I only got half way through these and decided I needed to get to bed. That is what I get for procrastinating!

nikon122113 027

A white tip stippling brush really shows how clean these get with the soap. Oh and I do this in front of my tv in the living room. I use the pink hospital thingie to hold a smidgen of water and the soap. I get a big bowl of warm water and use it to clean the brushes and rinse. when it gets to dirty I get fresh.

nikon122113 028

And here it is clean. The first picture looks still dingy but I think it is the angle as the other shows how white the tips really are.

nikon122113 029 nikon122113 030

Here is my favorite bare minerals brush, the handi buki. The only one I really ever use. I bought a second despite not caring for the fall out with these brushes. The next picture is me swirling it and cleaning it with my hand. I use the textures of my hand for not heavy duty thick makeup up to clean and a towel for super hard to get off makeup. Plus on my hand I can see if the soap and brush is “running clear.” and the makeup is gone. The next pictures are an example of how these brushes fray (just had to throw in a rant!!!) UGH and why I feel the need for the brush guards particularly on these brushes.

nikon122113 031nikon122113 032 nikon122113 033 nikon122113 034 nikon122113 035

Just one more easy to see example. A blush brush dirty and then clean. 😀

nikon122113 036 nikon122113 037 nikon122113 038

Any comments or questions please leave below :-)

Angela Watkins ** The Makeup Whisperer
{All I Desire Is To Empower And Beautify The World … No Matter The Situation}

Please follow me on my social media sites. I  am on my beauty youtube channel, beauty blog, tumblrtwitterFBgoogle+personal blog, youtube vlog, and instagram.

 

2 thoughts on “UGH! Brush Cleaning

  1. […] See my review post here and here. And I am expecting another package of the shadows today and even the blushes. I have not raved about the blushes but I got the shade Terracotta and it is so pigmented I was able to use it off my blush brush three times and even when I went to clean it … the product was still there. The brush was featured in my brush cleaning post found here.  […]

  2. […] See my review post here and here. And I am expecting another package of the shadows today and even the blushes. I have not raved about the blushes but I got the shade Terracotta and it is so pigmented I was able to use it off my blush brush three times and even when I went to clean it … the product was still there. The brush was featured in my brush cleaning post found here.  […]

Leave a Reply

